All Good Things




Inspired by one of the more infamous missing person's cases in recent New York history, All Good Things, starring Ryan Gosling and Kirsten Dunst, angles to be both a character portrait of psychological unease and rot, as well as a true-crime thriller loosely in the vein of Changeling, The Black Dahlia and Hollywoodland. Beset with a series of miscalculated dramatic misfires, it is instead a melodramatic adaptation of a tabloid-style telenews-magazine murder-mystery, wearyingly overstuffed with baroque detail in an effort to prop up its legitimacy.

Director Andrew Jarecki made a splash with the Oscar-nominated documentary Capturing the Friedmans, but in his dramatic feature debut he evinces little comfort for and skill with working with actors, and makes liberal use of tired dramatic markers more commonly associated with time-compressed television, like a whistling tea kettle to signify mounting tension. For the full, original review, from Screen International, click here. (Magnolia, R, 101 minutes)

 

What did you think of this article?




Trackbacks
  • No trackbacks exist for this post.
Comments
  • No comments exist for this post.
Leave a comment

Submitted comments are subject to moderation before being displayed.

 Name

 Email (will not be published)

 Website

Your comment is 0 characters limited to 3000 characters.